Daily Prompt: Come Fly with Me

Share a story about the furthest you’ve ever traveled from home.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRAVELS.

~~~~

Well, my story has a little twist to it.

See, I was born in a little country called Moldova. (See below on map).

moldova_pol01

In 1993, my parents moved to South Africa, taking me willingly or unwillingly along. At that time, I was almost three years old so I didn’t have much of a fight with staying in my country.

I have been living here ever since, it’s been 20 years now & I have come to call this country my home. I know my way around. I have friends almost all over the country. I have my freedom of knowing where I’m going, for how long & when I’m coming back. Yes, this is home.

In 2009, once I was done with school, I went back to Moldova to visit family & work. The initial plan was to move there permanently. I was very excited. This was the first time I would be traveling abroad on my own, & experiencing the country would be like a new adventure. I had difficulty fitting in. I speak Russian, but their language of preference is Moldavian so there was straight away a barrier in communication. As soon as I made friends at my workplace, it was difficult to hang out with them. They spoke a language I couldn’t understand & no one bothered to translate for me. I felt like an outsider.

Then there was the getting lost in the city. In the beginning, I was late for work countless times for getting on the wrong bus or getting off at the wrong station. The frustration was just not subsiding. I couldn’t go anywhere in fear of getting lost & being stranded there until someone offered a helping hand. Problem is if you don’t speak Moldavian, you don’t get a second glance – even if you were born in the country. I couldn’t go out to anywhere without having my phone fully charged in case I needed my family to send out a search party.

Then I think to myself. This is my home country, my origins. & I couldn’t fit less in! Could it be because the culture is completely different from what I’m use to in SA? The people in SA are much more relaxed & prone to help you if you need directions. Could it be because I couldn’t fit in with the crowd, being that my views & way of life were completely different?

After a couple of months, I was home sick. I wanted to see my mom (who stayed in SA), my friends, my pets. Even my old beat up car. I wanted it all back. I begged my mom to buy me a return ticket to SA as soon as possible so I could get away from the depressed place I should have been calling my home.

I’ve realized now that home is not the place you were born. Home is where you make it.

I’m still in SA, & happy with the decision I made to return. Because if I hadn’t return, I wouldn’t have met Byren (my husband) nor had my adorable baby with him.

The choices we make are always for the best. We sometimes just only realise this later on.

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Come Fly with Me

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Come Fly with Me- to the West Coast | Wordz on a Page

  2. Pingback: Let’s fly away. | smoke&mirrors

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Come Fly with Me | life n me!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Come Fly with Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Traveling | Tommia's Tablet

  6. Pingback: Photolog of the US | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Budapest And Bud Light | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Thanks for Visiting, Even for Just One Time | I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

  9. Pingback: Come Fly With Me | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Share Your Thoughts:

